#DBlog Week Day 4 — Mantras and More

13848270005_2f28c2982f_o (2)

Yesterday we opened up about how diabetes can bring us down. Today let’s share what gets us through a hard day. Or more specifically, a hard diabetes day. Is there something positive you tell yourself? Are there mantras that you fall back on to get you through? Is there something specific you do when your mood needs a boost? Maybe we’ve done that and we can help others do it too?

In preparation for this week, (e.g. a few minutes earlier today) I read through the majority of my past posts.  Have you ever done that?  It’s equivalent to reading an old diary, except it’s on the internet, doesn’t have a two cent, heart-shaped lock on it, and there are no gel pens (which is a shame).  However, it was fascinating to catch a glimpse back into what I focused on and experience a flood of memories around each post.  What caught my eye and what came to mind when I read today’s prompt was one of my first posts called Talk Story Tuesday — Boston and Information.  Weirdly, as you’ll read, I wrote this just after the Boston Bombings.  Not that it bears much relevance to the topic, I just find it interesting the six-inch worlds we all operate in.  One dealing with losing family, the other deciding what to post on a blog…

I don’t know about you but that’s a mood booster right there!

Anyway, the post talks about the one mantra I have repeated throughout my diabetic “career” and passed on to many people,

There is no bad information.

Now I know it’s not exactly inspirational, but I found when I am overwhelmed with bad numbers or crazy swings and am just exhausted, I take comfort in being able to at least gather information.  Whether I even touch the information that day, I know the crazy period will pass and I can then take a look and work on a plan of attack.

Diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint. 

Realize that not all days will be wins, but square your shoulders and decide to be better tomorrow.  Do not be defined by your numbers, or past decisions, or mistakes, because today is new day full of potential.  Habits are hard to break (hello girl who still goes through weeks of not checking nearly enough… read: like never) but each decision you make to eat better, exercise more, carb count correctly, bolus BEFORE a meal (totally guilty), and not stuff all those Skittles in your mouth is a decision for a better diabetic you!  Claim those wins! Boast, brag, post!  We all need some wins in this marathon.

And don’t worry, diabetes is a marathon, so one bad day does not a bad diabetic make.

Thank goodness! How about a bad month or three… anybody?

 

One response to “#DBlog Week Day 4 — Mantras and More

  1. You brought flooding memories of writing notes and journaling when I was younger. Gel Pens! It is a shame we can’t blog in gel pan and see the sparkle of our fine work.

    I have read through my posts before, usually when I’m feeling a litle lost.

    Once I was really struggling. I went bad to read and couldn’t believe that I’d not only already known the answer, but already written it out.

    Magical things can happen when we blog.

    Thank you for reminding me to look back again and revel in what once was.

    Wonderful mantras!

Leave a Reply

