Part Two: Almost Review Continued…

If you haven’t read the first part, read it here, it might make more sense…

Will I Stay?

Now that is the million-dollar question for any new care device diabetics try.  Is it worth it to stay?  Will this help me enough to get through the awkward learning phase?  Funnily enough I am not firmly decided on this point.  Like I said before, I was not discontent with my Medtronic.  It did its job, it did it well, and I knew what to expect from it.  Nothing about it really bothered me enough to feel relief at my moving on.

That being said…I’m not sure about the t:slim.  I really am not.  It’s not fun, or amazing, or awe-inspiring.  I don’t feel the pleasure of using it that I was expecting.  I just feel maddening indifference, almost mild annoyance.  It does its job, and it does it well.  The profile feature (like I said before) is a major plus and it simplifies that process, but with every other aspect it complicates things.  There are more buttons (air quotes) to push, more screens to confirm, and more steps to go through than the Medtronic, by a long shot.  Now, I do all of this just fine.  I don’t sit around complaining about the t:slim’s maddening number of confirm screens, or the ridiculous process to change a bolus.  I just do it.  I don’t think about it until I talk about it.  It really is not enough to completely tip the scales.  My fingers are still in the awkward dance phase of fighting the Medtronic muscle memory, so 90% of the time I’m hitting the wrong button, but again it just raises mild annoyance if anything.

9_21_2013 12_33_21 PM_jpg

One thing I was surprised about was the ease of set changes.  Most reviews of the t:slim, I know, hold this up as the most infuriating process.  But once again I find myself on the opposite side of the consensus.  With my Medtronic, I have only used the Quickset infusion sets, which only work with the Paradigm pumps.  For whatever reason I had gotten to the point of mildly dreading the set changes because of the pain associated with inserting the site.  When I say “pain” I don’t mean horrible pain, but really something you wince at and hope it subsides after a couple of seconds, but it still hurt.  When I switched I was really nervous about the new infusion sets (I’m using the Mio…? I think) and the whole process of learning a new process (I’m all about the process if you haven’t learned).  Wonderfully, out of 6 or 7 set changes I have only been uncomfortable once.  Uno.  That’s it.  And it was a bad stick.  But only once!  For whatever reason this needle/catheter combination goes in much easier than the Quickset, and I love that!  In addition to this marvelous development, I also enjoy the ability to insert myself into any part of the set change process depending on what I need.  I know you could do this with the Medtronic but it required you still going through the whole process.  With the Tandem if I need to just change the insertion set (like I had to the other day), I can do that by simply pressing the appropriate button and skipping everything I don’t need.

WP_20130921_006

Will there be a Part Three?  Wait and see!

 

One response to “Part Two: Almost Review Continued…

  1. Hi Sara! Glad to see the Tandem is working out for you. I’m reaching out with a question on diabetes awareness and can’t find any contact info. Please email me when you have a moment. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

