Choose wisely.

I started this post a while ago, but it still holds true.  I’m not sure why I was writing it though…

Choose your influencers wisely

I’m an arrogant diabetic.  It’s true.  I am distrustful, stubborn, shrewd, and unwilling to change without good reason.  Many of the people I meet who I let in on my not-so-secret secret have some form of advice or personal experience with “diabetes”.  If they actually get the right type their stories usually horrify me and leave me unwilling to entertain the conversation further.  I understand people’s desire to connect or relate personally to somebody, but, sweetie, I’m doing just fine without your advice.  In that, I tend to be very closed on who I let influence my decisions regarding my management.  And that is okay.  In a world of instant information and gun-ho parents, advice about diabetes can be overwhelming, confusing, and sometimes downright dangerous.  By saying that I am not advocating becoming an “under a rock dwelling” diabetic.  Support is hugely important, but be careful, choose that support wisely.  If your personal diabetic plumb-line is not working, find somebody you trust and use theirs (i.e. doctor, educator, etc.).  Being open and willing to listen is a life skill, but guard jealously those things that are most important.

In a somewhat similar note —

I want to speak to diabetics for a second.  I know most of you are at a point where you probably don’t want the fact that you have a defective organ broadcast to every person you meet.  I am hear to tell you that’s okay.  Trust me.  The first three years of wearing my pump, I wore it either inside my pocket (somebody mistook it for a deck of cards once) or clipped facing inwards on my belt.  It took me that long to become so fed up with sweaty hips and creased pockets to be okay with wearing it “openly”.  But you are a diabetic, nothing will change that.  One of the mottos I live by is, “If they don’t ask, you don’t offer.”  There is nothing that says you have to introduce yourselves by your disease.  Ugh, I’m the last person who would do that.  If those people don’t need to know, they don’t need to know.  But you also need to know yourself.  I knew I could pretty easily hack it without everybody knowing (that changes when I work as an EMT – all peoples will know).  But you also need to be safe, to trust those few people who know what’s going on and how to handle it.  You need to be honest with yourself on how well you actually control your numbers.  Going all Lone Ranger proves nothing and may get you in some deep kimchee (do kids even know who that is?).  Be smart, be mature, take that higher road of responsibility.  You’d be surprised.

indiana-jones-and-the-last-crusade_1989-1-2048x1366_scroller

He chose…poorly.

Leave a Reply

