Day 5 — Freaky Friday

Just like in the movie, today we’re doing a swap. If you could switch chronic diseases, which one would you choose to deal with instead of diabetes? And while we’re considering other chronic conditions, do you think your participation in the DOC has affected how you treat friends and acquaintances with other medical conditions?

Hypoglycemia

Yep.  Without a doubt.  My mother has a mild form of this (which is ironic, hers must work super well while mine…).  It’s pretty awesome.  When you’re not low I mean.  But you can eat and eat without worrying about going high!!  It’s like enjoying all the fun-ness of midnight munchies to make you feel a-mazing without the crappy feeling in the morning.  I know, she’d probably tell you it’s annoying and stuff, but I already go low, so…the only difference is I can just eat!

It also requires you to eat well.  If my mother has a good balanced breakfast she rarely ever goes low during the day.  She has to make sure and have at least some form of protein or she’s screwed about mid-morning.

Her lows are generally more mild than mine.  (I checked her once just to see, she was 70ish and feeling pretty bad)

It’s humorous when she is low and I’m telling her she needs to eat (sound familiar Mom?) “No Mom, a diet soda or water is not going to help.  No Mom, you have to eat something other than eggs and cheese.”  It’s great.  She gets annoyed and funnily dramatic too.  I no longer wonder where I get that from.

So thanks Mom for showing me a lovely alternative condition, and one I didn’t have to Wiki…(is that a verb now?  did I just make that a verb?)

I also remember old-school Matlock solving a crime where the perp was hypoglycemic and he had to drink soda while he was waiting for the victim…they got him off a print on the tab!   Yeah! 

2 responses to “Day 5 — Freaky Friday

  1. Okay, I’ll give you that one. It’s mild enough that I wouldn’t feel guilty wishing for it. You’re the first of these blogs I’ve read where the writer actually chose an alternate chronic condition that they’d prefer. Most folks have said, “no way, I wouldn’t trade” you win points for boldness.

    • Thanks Julie! I know, it’s a funky question because ultimately it’s not the worst option, but I like alternatives. 🙂

Leave a Reply

