Day 2 — We the Undersigned…

Recently various petitions have been circulating the Diabetes Online Community, so today let’s pretend to write our own. Tell us who you would write the petition to – a person, an organization, even an object (animate or inanimate) – get creative!! What are you trying to change and what have you experienced that makes you want this change?

So this is my “petition”…More like a formal acknowledgement/apology.  Not really an apology, because I am not actually sorry.  Okay, a letter.  It’s a freaking letter.  But petition sounds so much cooler…

To: Any diabetes professionals whose advice we routinely ignore.

We the undersigned do solemnly confess to intentionally disregarding your well researched and medically sound advice in the name of comfort and simplicity.  When diagnosed, we, the newly diabetic, step blinking into the great brightness that is the world of medical jargon, advice, and a great many white-coated individuals who are focused on communicating the to-dos and not-to-dos of the disease.  We are fresh faced and eager to please these white coated geniuses with our strict adherence to said regulations and we do for a time, comply.  This phenomenon is repeated with the introduction of any new device to our care repertoire.  The overwhelming information is received, analyzed, memorized, and stored with the promise of strict acquiescence.  The reasons for such acceptance are described in detail along with the depiction of the potential consequences of straying from the marked trail.  We assent to these reasons unconsciously, as an afterthought to the abundance of medical terminology lobbed our way.  Not till we are further down the road of compliance do we begin to think, to examine, and to determine what stays and what goes.

We the diabetics do present the following examples of departure from above sound advice and logic behind such a deviance.

And I am done trying to emulate Thomas Jefferson…that man had the market on ridiculous verbiage cornered.

Item 1 – Frequently (and by frequently they mean everyday) change lancet.  Really?  I don’t remember a time I ever actually did this.  I am pretty sure I still have a whole box of lancets from my very first meter.  We (and by we I mean me…) tend to not even think about changing that little guy till it’s too dull to even pop a balloon and therefore painful enough to warrant action.

Item 2 – Accurately carb count everything you eat.  You know how many carbs Americans eat a day?  A lot.  This especially is one we start off really well, but once we get an idea of what food contain what carbs…Mr Calorie King goes out the window.  I like to think of it as an important step in a diabetic’s maturity.

Item 3 – Checking every time you go low.  I understand that for some people, checking is the only way to tell if one is low, but if you “feel” lows, chances are you don’t exactly check every single time.  When that feeling hits, you’re really not thinking of making sure you have a record of this occurrence for your doctor to go over later with you…You’re thinking, “Carbs! Right now!”

Item 4 – Changing insertion sites after the recommended wear time.  My Medtronic pump site pushes it to about six days average.  Which I love.  This is one of the main reasons I’m going for the Dexcom CGM over the Medtronic; seven blissful, approved, nobody-breathing-down-your-neck days of continuous wear between sensor changes.  It works for me and this is one I am more than willing to go to the mat with my provider over.

Item 5 – Cleaning insertion/injection/checking sites with alcohol prep.  I am sorry to say I stopped doing this the moment my parents stopped looking over my shoulder.  I can’t be the only one!

Item 6 – Following the prescribed methods of treating a low.  Heaven knows when that feeling hits, you’re grabbing at anything with a carb count.  If that happens to be a bottle of glucose tabs, all the better for it.  But most people have developed a unique way of handling lows and chances are, it’s different then the recommendation.

While these are just a few of the things us diabetics routinely do in opposition to our well-intentioned medical handlers, it is no way a comprehensive list.

Do you have any others you can add?

5 responses to “Day 2 — We the Undersigned…

  1. I treat nighttime lows with fig newtons and get grief every time I tell my diabetes team that. Works for me!

    Love your blog by the way. I discovered it yesterday and it’s already on my favourites list.

    • Funny enough I’ve never used the glucose tabs so I get some very odd looks when I tell other diabetics that! Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

