Remaining true.

There are so many things I could write about!  So many interesting articles and blog posts have been written over the last week that I’m almost to the point of throwing my hands in the air and giving up.  The diabetes blogosphere is big, bigger than I ever imagined and I’m only scratching the surface.  It’s quite cool however.  When I started tSara Edited6his blog five weeks ago, I wanted to help people, to share my experiences and offer advice, but I’m finding it’s so much deeper than that.  I feel the pressure of wanting what I say to be meaningful (I know, a blog people actually want to read) and to honor all of my brothers and sisters who deal with much more than me.  These things are important to me.  I also want to remain myself.  I don’t want to be caught up in my disease, constantly talking about it, belaboring the fact that I’m different.  And I am afraid of that happening.  It’s the gossip honey trap – somebody says something awful or inspiring or sad and you want to top that.  “Well, you may have it bad, but I have a crazy story too!”  We all feel this pressure, especially when we happen to NOT be struggling with something that particular day.

So, here is my solemn promise to you.  I will try to never top anybody’s stories of make it appear my life is different than it really is.  I will not exaggerate or elaborate unnecessarily on my stories or make something a big deal that, in reality, I hardly considered.

In light of that commitment…I had a day last week where I went low four times.  Yep.  Four.  I would’ve taken pictures of them, but I didn’t think about it.  I handled it, got annoyed, ate more than I wanted, adjusted, and moved on.  Now that I have the blog, I feel I’m much more aware of those instances and thinking, “Oh, is this blog-worthy?”  What?  Has my life been reduced in such a short time to what experiences are blog-worthy?  No, that is…just what happened this week.  I went low a crapload.  I think I realized on the third day that maybe my correction ratio was driving the BG train into the ground every time I bolused.  So I adjusted.  It wasn’t a big deal.  It was everyday life.

And it can be everyday life.  Let’s not make this more dramatic and therefore more stressful than it already is.

Oh, and how do like the new setup?

3 responses to “Remaining true.

  1. I know the feeling. There have been a few times where something happened and I wished I had my camera (phone) with me to document it, then I ask myself “is this really worthy of discussing?” and I feel bad about being so focused on it. Sometimes I take a picture of something peculiar in my diabetes world just to hold on to the picture for when it becomes relevant later.

    It can be hard to come up with stuff to talk about that’s actually interesting. When I first started blogging, I told myself that I would try to differentiate, and not just make it a running log of my highs and lows, because nobody really cares about that. But if I could find some humor or maybe just a different perspective of things that everyone can relate to, that might make it interesting.

  2. Thanks for your comment Scott! I know as I get further into this experience I’ll get a better idea of how to balance all of that. Still trying to figure it out!

  3. Pingback: I’m excited. | The Pump and the Second Hand·

Leave a Reply

