My Name is Sara & I’m a Diabetic.

Recently Kayla, over at Kayla’s Life Notes, published a post about her realization that living with diabetes successfully requires, living with diabetes.

Her words echo so completely my heart for all diabetics, newly diagnosed, struggling for independence, or just trying to figure out their life +diabetes.

If my life is going to be about checking blood sugars, giving insulin, wearing a pump and treating lows then so be it. There is nothing that I can do to take that away from myself. I have diabetes.  However, if I check daily, give insulin, wear this pump tucked into my bra, and pop glucose tabs every now and then I am opening up so many possibilities for myself by choosing life.

This, I think, is one of the hardest things to accept as a diabetic, but it is also one of the most liberating.  We are diabetics, the good, the bad, and the ugly.  We can fight this diagnosis, pretend it never happened, go days without checking our blood sugar (guilty), but what are we proving?  What is the purpose?  To feel a little better about ourselves for a couple of hours?  To pretend we don’t have a defective organ that impacts our daily lives with chronic regularity?  To lie to ourselves and to other people about the state of our bodies and our health?  That is scary.  Having diabetes is a little scary, but pretending that it doesn’t exist and putting our bodies through the hell that is uncontrolled blood sugar is downright horrifying.  moivation

With diabetes, we cannot be healthy without taking care of our diabetes.  We need to acknowledge its existent and figure out how to take care of it.  The funny thing is, once we accept that fact about ourselves and begin to take care of it, we are healthier.  A whole world of possibilities opens up when we control our diabetes.  If we do not, our world is very limited.  When taken care of, diabetes has minimal impact.  We are able to do anything we want because we trust ourselves, our bodies, and our experiences.  How cool!  Yes, sometimes it sucks.  Yes, sometimes you just want to go ONE day without poking your sore fingers or worrying about the carb count in every single thing you eat. I get it.  We all have those days.  That’s okay.  But choosing to ignore your diabetes is devastating, debilitating, and irreversible.  I don’t meant to a be fear monger, but it’s the truth.  It is also the truth that all those scary side effects are a result of years of horrible control, not a few days.

Start today.  You are a diabetic.  Accepting that and taking care of YOU is the first step to living a healthy, fulfilling life.

You can do it!!

That was very cheesy and motivational-speaker-ish…Just thought I’d acknowledge that I know that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

