Lazy vs. Easy vs. Dying

After writing the post about my experience with the Dexcom Seven CGM, I got to thinking about how this device has the potential to again make me a lazy diabetic.

You know it’s true.  I was diagnosed almost nine years ago and I have been on a pump for eight and half of those nine years, i.e. a long time.  I still remember going to Sonic the first couple of days after I received my pump and feeling this ridiculous amount of freedom when I bolused for a milkshake a mere ten minutes after bolusing for lunch (I didn’t even check!).  I was footloose and fancy-free with my pump by my side!

And there it began.  My slide into laziness, granted by modern medical devices and my natural BG sensitivity.

The insulin delivery progression...I don't even know how old that bottle of Lantus is.

The insulin delivery progression…I don’t even know how old that bottle of Lantus is.

I hadn’t realized how lazy I had gotten till about five years ago when my first pump broke. All of the sudden I was thrust back to the land of syringes and insulin bottles.  What?  I hadn’t taken a shot of Lantus in years!  And calculating boluses?  Forget about it, that’s what the handy-dandy bolus wizard was for in the computer on my hip.  I had become lazy, accustomed to eating what I wanted, when I wanted.  Over the next couple of days I became a diabetic wreck — nervous, jumpy at food, freaking out about ratios, and appreciating again the beauty of a “free” snack.  It was a great wake-up call to the young lady who thought she was pretty good at this thing.

In the following years my pump broke twice more (jumping into the river fully-pumpified was not one of my better diabetic moments…) but I was better prepared, more aware of my laziness and not so sensitive to nervous breakdowns.  However, the thought still remained:

I had become lazy. 

This thought intrigued me, the idea that modern medical devices actually make us (diabetics) lazier, so I Googled it.  Yep, typed in “do pumps make diabetics lazy” and hit enter.  One of the first hits was a story from three years ago of reporter in England who was a struggling T1D.  He had received a pump and it changed his life.  He’s quoted as saying,

I thought the people recommending them were being lazy…I couldn’t understand what the big deal was or why they weren’t prepared to test and inject like everyone else had to.  But I feel bad about that now because having used one, I can really see the benefits. I feel so much healthier and I am no longer worried about having hypoglycemic reactions. I would have given anything for that years ago.

So here is a person who thought pumps were for the lazy, but when he got one he realized this was far from the truth.

Side Note: Pumps are not for everyone.  I know two wonderfully controlled diabetics who work magic with their needles and insulin.  But they are the super cool diabetics, and I always feel a little lazy around them…but I’m not lazy, I’m just different.

If not lazy than what?  Easy?  Do pumps simply make our lives easier?  Well, that’s a simple answer…

Of course they do. 

When I was forced off my pump, I quickly realized how hard being a diabetic actually was.  Now, of course I didn’t have a system down, but it was still hard.  And I had forgotten.  So HUZZAH to all the “lazy” diabetics out there who enjoy the wonders of modern medical technology (including insulin) without the guilt of feeling lazy!  Because, after all, if we were truly hardcore diabetics we’d all die.  Because that’s what diabetics used to do, before things got a little easier.

I sometimes still feel lazy though…when I want to.

Link to article about the British T1D reporter…
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-1191653/I-thought-insulin-pumps-lazy-diabetics–Im-hooked-says-Steve-Dixon.html#ixzz2Q5LGJiWQ

Leave a Reply

